Board Leadership

We provide a high quality Jewish experience for children and young adults that is safe, fun, and promotes personal growth.

– The SLC Mission

Board Leadership

Knowledgeable. Experienced. Forward-thinking. Dedicated.

The Board of Directors of Surprise Lake Camp, a nonprofit, 501 (c) 3 organization, is responsible for the long-term fiscal health of the organization, its strategic planning, policies, and ensuring that its legacy is strong and vibrant.

We are fortunate to benefit from this Board’s deep expertise in many fields and passionate commitment to the mission, values, and community of this camp. Members include alumni and parents—a mix of business and communal leaders—each one integral to, invested in, and actively involved with the success of SLC in achieving its mission. We are grateful that they are all so generous with their time, insight, and support for the work of SLC’s professional leadership.


Michael Zbar, President
Robert Altabet, Vice President
Amy Goldberg, Vice President
Charles Jainchill, Vice President
Cindy Shmerler, Vice President
Gayle (Hoffman) Doyle, Treasurer
Seth Stein, Secretary
Peter Hirsch, Immediate Past President

Board Members

Margery Arsham*
Peter Baum
Howard Berk
Joseph Goldberg
Matthew Grosshandler
Dayle Henshel
Joy Henshel*
Patti Henshel
Alan Hoffman
Stanley Josephson
Lee M. Kaplan
Thomas S. Karger
Alan Kleiman
Mark Levine
Michael Margulies* (z”l)
Linda Markowitz*
Ruth Messinger*
James Meyer
Jerry Meyer
Eve Rubinstein
Laurence H. Rubinstein*
Eliot Senor
Jordana Zbar

Honorary Board Members

Moe Bordwin
Michael Herson
Barbara Hirsch*
Deborah Raizes

* Past President

z”l: may their memory be for a blessing

Click here to view SLC’s 2018 Form 990